The teaching staff of the College on Thursday 10th February 2022 went to the poll to elect new Deans in the School of Agric and Homec, School of Business Education, School of Education, School of Languages, School of Art and Social Sciences, School of Adult and Non-formal Education and School of Early Child Education. The new Dean’s would pilot the affairs of their various Schools for a period of two years.

The Provost, Dr. Tessy Okoli, in her remarks reminded the contestants that the position of Dean demands competence and diligence. He said that aside academic duties, the elected Deans also perform administrative functions for the growth and development of the College.

She stressed that the post of Dean should be reserved solely for Chief Lecturers with proven ability to provide the required academic leadership, and should possess the requisite academic qualification of doctorate degree.

In the School of Agric and Homec, out of the five contestants that declared their interest, Dr. Umeze C. U. polled the highest number of votes to emerge winner.

At the School of Business Education Dr. L. N. Akamobi swept the poll and was declared winner. Also, Dr. Onwuzor O. G. won in the School of Education, having gotten the highest votes against her opponent.

In the School of Languages, Dr. Princess .A. Okafor defeated her opponent and was declared the Dean-elect.

Meanwhile at the newly created Schools, which comprises School of Arts and School Sciences, School of Adult/Non formal and Special Need Education, School of Early Childhood Care and Primary Education, Dr. Onwuasanya S. A., Ndubuaku S. N. and Dr. Onyekwelu L. U. emerged as Deans.

While commending the academic staff for the peaceful conduct of the election, Chairman COEASU, Dr. Churchill Okonkwo described the exercise as transparent and thanked the College Management for ensuring the credibility of the exercise.

He charged the new Deans to collaborate with the Provost and Management for the growth and development of the College.

The Provost further advised other contestants that lost the election to imbibe the spirit of sportsmanship and work together with the winners for the sole purpose of moving the College forward. She promised the support of the College Management to the newly created Schools to see them through their teething period.

The election in the various Schools was hailed as free and fair by participants.

Other Management staff present during the election includes the Deputy Provost Dr. C. C. Ugwuogo, the Registrar B. C. Nkah, the Bursar, Comrade Ethelbert Echedo, the Librarian Dr. A. S. Agada. The Director, Academic Planning and Statistics, Dr. Israel Juliana was also part of the exercise.